Avril Lavigne’s Head Above Water — an opinion

Mega Goo
2 min readSep 20, 2018

--

…my life is what I’m fighting for
Can’t part the sea, can’t reach the shore
And my voice becomes the driving force
I won’t let this pull me overboard

https://avrillavigne.com/

Ladies and gentlemen, the queen is BACK! Avril Lavigne finally comeback with her new single Head Above Water. I heared the song after 3 hours it released on youtube. And I replayed it like 100x. As one of Avril Lavigne’s die-hard fan, I think I need to write my opinion about this new song.

Head Above Water is a song about Avril’s struggle against Lyme Disease. This song seems to represent anyone out there who is struggling against something either illness or other life problems.

What can I say about Head Above Water: So emotional, so powerful, very meaningful lyrics, so pure, what an angelic voice. And honestly, I cried. I cried because of the song and I cried because of how much I miss her!

I love the piano on the intro and she kicks it with her powerful voice, and the high notes is just wow. Pitch perfect! On the reff part, the beat is so fit in. I think it’s gonna be a totally mellow song until the end but it’s not. Interesting. The lyrics is everything for me, very meaningful, of course because of the story behind it. My favorite lyrics part: “God, keep my head above water, I lose my breath at the bottom, come rescue me, I’ll be waiting, I’m too young to fall asleep.” The words! Full of hopes, huh?! Hope is something that you really need in your very worst situation, right?! In several interviews she said that her new album much more focus on the lyrics, piano instruments, and emotions, so, yeah, I think this new single is just like what she said.

And I don’t know about you but for me, her voice become much better time by time, like she don’t needs any autotune.

Overall, she delivered song messages very well, I got goosebumps several times.

Actually, it just not Avril who can create good works after hardtimes, there are many other musicians too, we know that. But what I want to say is, we have to learn from this thing, that even though we’re hurt and in pain, we must remain hopeful, stand up, and get better. Everyone has hardtimes, but the choice is always there, it’s depending on how we deal with it; get up and live better or keep quiet and let whatever happens, happen.

So, Abbey, welcome back! :)

Here’s Avril Lavigne’s Head Above Water Lyric Video on Youtube:

Avril Lavigne’s Head Above Water on Spotify:

--

--